Booty Call

bio_strip_w_logo

 

It was lust at first sight. We locked eyes a gas station in Carpinteria on the corner of Via Real and Santa Monica Road. Small talk about an Earth Day celebration turned into surf talk turned into the hot surfer boy getting my number.

He’s not my usual type. The salty hair and tanned skin is a shift from the wholesome boy-next-door I’m normally drawn to. But he’s tall, has a great body, drives a truck, and his bad-boy-I-don’t-give-a-f*ck attitude gave me butterflies south of my stomach. I admit, this wasn’t the classiest exchange, but when a guy asks for your number after you’ve had your heart shattered, it can make a woman feel back in the game. So with a red Sharpie on an old receipt, I gave him my digits and drove away with a huge grin, biting my lip.

Five minutes later, the texting begins:

 

Him: “Hi Elizabeth this is Ryan. U look great! Where r u from?”

(Here we go. No phone call, only text. It seems old fashion courting is out and impersonal detachment is in. Where’s the I’d-love-to-take-you-out-sometime phone call? But really, what did I expect? I gave my number out to a random at a gas station. I text back anyway and do my best to overlook slang and bad grammar. Hello, twenty-first century dating.)

 

Me: Hey Ryan. Thank you, you make me blush! I moved here from the East Coast  a year ago. I love Carp!

 

Him: That’s awesome. We should meet up. What are u up 2?

highlight_copy

Me: Family in town…
Him: Cool. Well lmk if u need a break from them. Ur smoking hot. You are welcome to come over tonight if ud like. I have some extra time i can give to you.

(I immediately save his number under, “Ryan Cocky Surfer Boy”. Fitting enough. And why I save his number, I have no idea. I guess I just liked having the presence of a new guy in my phone.)

Me: (no response)

Him: Lets just b mellow and watch a movie. The thought of you stopping by gets me excited. Or cum by 2maro.

(Oh Lord. Time to cut this off.)

Me: Hey Ryan. You are cute but I’m not looking for a hook up. Take care!

(I actually was looking for a hook up, but I couldn’t get past, “2maro”.)

Him: I’m not looking for a hookup either. What gave u that impression?

(Hmm? I wonder?)

text_message_pic

Fast-forward a week, his texts persist with every other day presenting a new opportunity to “hang.” I ignore him for the most part, and should have entirely, but instead I respond one last time. I have to give him a little credit for not giving up.

 

Me: Hey Ryan. Not sure, this week just got nuts….

Him: Im sure u can find a lil opening to put me in.

Me: Bye bye
I laugh as I put down my phone. Lesson learned: When you give a random dude your number, don’t expect him to sweep you off your feet. Although nothing happened, I’m glad I took a baby step towards putting myself out there again. That has to count for something. Play on, playa.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

